Museo di Palazzo Grimani

http://dati.beniculturali.it/mibact/luoghi/resource/CulturalInstituteOrSite/108198 an entity of type: CulturalInstituteOrSite

Museo di Palazzo Grimani 
45.43707 
12.342447 
Museo, galleria non a scopo di lucro e/o raccolta 
DBUnico.108198 
Museo di Palazzo Grimani 

Palazzo Grimani was purchased by the State in 1981 and in 2001 a decree of the Ministry of the Cultural Heritage gave responsibility for its management to the Superintendency of State Museums in Venice. With the reopening of the palazzo on December 20th 2008 the city of Venice gained an especially valuable addition to its museum circuit, internationally important for its architectural originality, the quality of its decoration and the history of its development.

At the beginning of the 16th century, Antonio Grimani gave his sons the family house at Santa Maria Formosa: later, on the advice of celebrated architrects such as Jacopo Sansovino, Sebastiano Serlio e Andrea Palladio, Antonio’s grandsons – Vettore, a Procurator of St. Mark’s and Giovanni, the Patriarch of Aquileia – substantially altered the building and gave it a classical stamp.

The palazzo housed Giovanni Grimani’s archaeological collection, one of the finest of the time, which was strikingly displayed on shelves, mantelpieces and plinths in settings such as the specially designed Tribuna and the courtyard.

The decoration of the rooms is of extraordinarily high quality, with outstanding stuccowork and frescoes reflecting the confidently unconventional taste of the Grimanis and executed by Mannerist artists such as Giovanni da Udine, Francesco Salviati, Camillo Mantovano, Francesco Menzocchi and Federico Zuccari.

All this makes Palazzo Grimani unique in Venetian history and architecture, a fascinating treasure house of cultural, artistic and historical riches and, now that its restoration has been completed, a museum of itself and of a few choice examples of the taste underlying the creation of the family collections in the 1500s.

 

Il palazzo Grimani fu ristrutturato e modificato da un primitivo nucleo medievale nel corso del cinquecento, sotto la regia di Vettore e di Giovanni Grimani, che, tra il 1537 e 1540, affidarono la decorazione di alcuni ambienti del primo piano nobile a Giovanni da Udine e Francesco Salviati, esponenti della moderna corrente manierista.

Dopo la morte del fratello Vettore, rimasto unico proprietario, Giovanni edificò le due ali a chiusura del cortile quadrato, collocandovi la scala ovata e la straordinaria stanza a lacunari con lanterna.

In questi ambienti del palazzo fece eseguire un nuovo importante ciclo di decorazioni ad opera, tra gli altri, di Camillo Mantovano e del giovane Federico Zuccari, per dare degna cornice alla rinomatissima raccolta di statue, medaglie, busti antichi, di libri e di dipinti.

Itinerari e percorsi tematici

Il museo è inserito nel percorso Storie sull'acqua. Percorsi tra mare e terra: Venezia, Chioggia, Adria, Stra . Info e costi al link indicato.

E' inoltre possibile acquistare il biglietto cumulativo con la galleria Franchetti alla Ca' d'Oro al prezzo di 10  €

 

data from the linked data cloud

Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 International (CC BY 3.0). For exceptions see here